User Access Control FAQs
Describe how to use security level and security role to manage user access control.
Knowledge Base > Security Level
- What is security level?
Security level is a feature for workspace and project owner to
control access on sensitive information by limiting access to these specific
items. Security level is currently applied only on tasks and documents.
- How does it work?
Each time when you sign up for a new workspace, there will
be 3 pre-built security levels namely Administrator, Internal and Public. Administrator
has the highest level of authority(100) and has access on every item regardless of the item's security level. Internal has a medium level of authority(50) and can only
access items with security level lower or equal to 50. Last but not least,Public has the lowest security level(0) and can only access items with security level equals to 0.
- How do I create more security levels?
You can create more security levels by clicking on "Manage Security Level" under the "Security Setting" tab. Security level can be any number in between 0 and 100.
- What is the different between security level and security role?
Security level is always named in a more technical manner and it stores indexes from 0 to 100 as its reference to determine which item is accessible by a particular security level. On the other hand, security role is always named according to the positions available in a particular office environment, and there is always a case where two (2) or more security roles are sharing the same security level. For example, a marketing manager might have the same security level (Manager) as a sales manager since both of them are in the same level as far as the company hierarchy is concerned.
- How do I assign a security role to a member?
You can assign a security role to a workspace member by clicking on "Assign User's Security Role" under the "Security Setting" tab. Click on the role of a particular member and change the role accordingly.
- How do I assign security level to Tasks and Documents?
When creating a new task or document, a new field(Security Level) will appear in the form. The default value is "0 - Public" which means this task or document can be viewed by anyone. To restrict the access, choose one of the value from the drop down list.